background image
Virtual Conference June 24th🎉

Board of Directors

Founder and President, Teresa Wagner, DrPH, MS, CPH, RD/LD, CPPS, CHWI, DipACLM, CHWC

Dr. Wagner is a registered and licensed dietitian with a doctorate in public health. An Assistant Professor at UNT Health Science Center and Clinical Executive for Health Literacy at SaferCare Texas, she’s certified in Patient Safety, Lifestyle Medicine, Health Coaching and a certified Community Health Worker Instructor. Her research focuses on alleviating health disparities in underserved communities through health literacy to improve population health. As a result of her work, she has received the 2018 Texas Health Literacy Hero Award as well as the 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award from Texas Christian University.

Vice-President, Melanie Stone, MPH, MEd

Melanie directs the Community Service Learning (CSL) program through the Center for Medical Humanities & Ethics at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. This innovative program promotes student and faculty engagement with community organizations in conducting service projects which benefit medically underserved populations in Texas. Her passion is health literacy and in her current role, she helps bring health literacy awareness, knowledge, and skills to the future health care professional workforce.

Treasurer, Jason McBride, MPH

Jason is a Public Health Educator at the Parkland Victim Intervention Program/Rape Crisis Center in Dallas, TX. He has a Master of Public Health degree from The Ohio State University and is a Certified Health Education Specialist. In May 2021, he will graduate with a Master of Science in Victim Services Management from Sam Houston State University. Jason is bilingual in Spanish.

Secretary & Director of Research, Anabel Rodriguez, PhD, MPH

Dr. Rodriguez is the proud bilingual daughter of Mexican immigrants and seasonal migrant farmworkers from the South Texas border town of Rio Grande City. For the past six and a half years, Dr. Rodriguez’s research has focused on improving occupational health and safety among vulnerable working groups—dairy workers, logging machine operators, and migrant farmworkers. Most recently, her work has focused on bovine tuberculosis and healthcare access, health literacy and barriers among dairy workers in Texas, as well as, mental health care access and perceptions among migrant farmworker families residing in South Texas.

Director of Legislation & Advocacy, Christine Yanas, BA

Christine is the Vice President of Policy and Advocacy at Methodist Healthcare Ministries of South Texas, Inc. where she is responsible for the development of the organization’s public health policies, state and federal legislative agendas. Chris is an experienced government relations professional with more than 20 years of specialized knowledge and experience in hospital and healthcare public policy. Prior to joining MHM, Chris served for seven years as the interim CEO and as the Vice President of Operations and Advocacy at Teaching Hospitals of Texas (THOT) in Austin where she advocated on behalf of the state’s large teaching hospitals. 

Director of Education & Outreach, Christina Tuell, EdD, CHES

Dr. Tuell, trained in health sciences and education, is passionate about creating opportunities and building equitable pathways. Currently working as a postdoc research fellow on a HIV prevention and education grant and adjunct instructor, she remains actively engaged in the community and research. Her research interests include health literacy, technology-based health promotions, effects of tobacco use among rural populations, health disparities in racial, sexual and gender minorities, and intersectionality.

Debra Flores, Ph.D., M.A., CCHWI

Dr. Flores has over 35 years of experience in the medical field specifically in nursing, healthcare management and public health. Her expertise includes grant writing, program implementation, program evaluation, healthcare transformation, rural health, patient navigation, chronic disease management, community outreach, health literacy and community health worker training and development. She is a certified CHW instructor, adjunct faculty for the MPH program at TTUHSC, a recurring faculty for TTUHSC SON, and a faculty affiliate for the Human Development and Family Studies Department at TTU. In her current position, Debra is an Assistant Professor and Program Director for the Master of Science in Healthcare Administration in the School of Health Professions at TTUHSC.   

Mary Kathryn “Kate” Martin, MPH, MEd

Kate is a Research Coordinator with the UTHealth School of Public Health-Houston. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Marshall University located in West Virginia, her home state, a Masters of Education from the University of Virginia, and a Masters of Public Health from the University of Texas Health Science Center Houston School of Public Health. Her career includes positions with the City of San Antonio and the San Antonio Metropolitan Health District, the TX Department of State Health Services, and a Federally Qualified Health Center-Community Health Center prior to coming to the School of Public Health. Kate was awarded the San Antonio Health Literacy Initiative’s Health Literacy Award in 2016.

Howaida M. Werfelli, DrPH, MPH

Dr. Werfelli serves as CEO of SALVERE Public Health Consultants LLC. She holds a Master in Public Health and a Doctorate in Public Health with a focus on Management, Policy and Community Health Practice from UTHealth School of Public Health. She has served as principal investigator on grant-funded projects as well as an evaluator for grant-funded programs. She also has focused experience researching impeding and facilitating factors to access to healthcare for refugees that includes health literacy. She has authored two papers and has presented her work at local, state, and national conferences.